National Green Building Standard™

Posted by pcbasentry on February 18, 2009

National Green Building Standard™

Purchase the National Green Building Standard at www.BuilderBooks.com

In 2007 the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) and the International Code Council (ICC) partnered to form to establish a much-needed and nationally-recognizable standard definition of what is meant by “Green Building.”

A consensus committee was formed to develop this standard in compliance with the requirements of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The resulting ANSI approved ICC-700-2008 National Green Building Standard defines green building for single and multifamily homes, residential remodeling projects and site development projects while still allowing for the flexibility required for regionally-appropriate best green practices.

Similar to the NAHB Model Green Homebuilding Guidelines, a builder, remodeler or developer must incorporate a minimum number of features in the following areas: energy, water, and resource efficiency, lot and site development, indoor environmental quality, and home owner education. The more points accrued, the higher the score.

The Standard, however, includes more mandatory items and suggests that higher thresholds be met in several categories. A new threshold – “Emerald” – was added to denote the highest achievement in residential green construction. The following tables highlight the point values required in each area for green buildings and subdivisions.

Threshold Point Ratings for Green Buildings
Green Building Categories Performance Point Levels (1) (2)
1. Chapter 5 Lot Design, Preparation, and Development 39 66 93 119
2. Chapter 6 Resource Efficiency 45 79 113 146
3. Chapter 7 Energy Efficiency 30 60 100 120
4. Chapter 8 Water Efficiency 14 26 41 60
5. Chapter 9 Indoor Environmental Quality 36 65 100 140
6. Chapter 10 Operation, Maintenance, and Building Owner Education 8 10 11 12
7. Additional Points from any category 50 100 100 100
Total Points 222 406 558 697
(1) In addition to the threshold number of points in each category, all mandatory provisions of each category shall be implemented.
(2) For dwelling units greater than 4,000 square feet (372 square meters), the number of points in Category 7 (Additional Points from any category) shall be increased in accordance with Section 601.1. The “Total Points” shall be increased by the same number of points.

Threshold Point Ratings for Site Design and Development
Green Subdivision Category Performance Point Levels
One Star Two Stars Three Stars Four Stars
Chapter 4 Site Design and Development 79 104 134 175

Many of the mandatory measures found in The National Green Building Standard are consistent with the International Code Council’s I-Codes. Additionally, the baseline for energy savings has been updated to IECC 2006. To qualify for “Bronze” in the energy efficiency chapter of the Standard, a home must be at least 15% better than the 2006 IECC (ENERGY STAR™ equivalent). Below is a rough breakdown of the energy efficiency differences between thresholds and illustrates the percentage above ENERGY STAR™ requirements needed to achieve higher thresholds within the Green Building Standard’s Energy Efficiency performance path.

The Green Scoring Tool allows scoring a building to the Standard (as well as the NAHB Model Green Home Building Guidelines), and includes decision support materials such as how to verify, intent, how to implement, resources, and Green Approved Products.

For more information see ANSI National Green Building Standard


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: